Tags

, , , ,

Potato & Leek Soup

Yorkshire Pudding

Well, here we are at our final day of Oscar week.  Last but not nearly least is a wonderful movie adapted from the young reader’s book “War Horse”. 

Set in the days of World War I and told through the voice of a horse named Joey.  It takes us through the realities of the war to end all wars.  My daughter read the book and insisted I read it too.  It was wonderful.  We have not seen the movie but are anxiously awaiting its release on DVD.  I know I am going to need a box of tissues in my lap when that time comes. 

In researching traditional foods of England I found myself reluctant to take on any dishes because most involve meals heavy with fatty meats and fried foods.  Still feeling full from this past week, I opted to dig a little deeper because I felt there just HAD to be some healthy lighter foods under the “traditional” list.  Apparently I’m not the only one who felt this way.  I found this blogger’s site taking on this exact search.  I was relieved to read that there ARE some lighter fare in England.  It’s basically limited to soup.  Yep, soup.  Hey, I love soup.  It’s versatile and comforting and can be anything you want it to be.  I also decided to try my hand a Yorkshire pudding.  My hubby and daughter think that all pudding should be sweet and creamy and preferably from a box with the word “Jello” on the front.  Whatever.  I found a Tyler Florence recipe on the Food Network website that seemed easy enough.  The truth is that I have no idea if what I was able to produce comes close to what a true Yorkshire pudding would look and taste like.  I’m looking forward to the day when I can find out.  Let’s get started.  First the soup.

Potato Leek Soup

Ingredients:

2 slices of bacon, roughly chopped

 

 

 

 

1/2 large onion, chopped

 

 

 

 

2 leeks, sliced (dark green ends taken off)

4 cloves garlic, minced

3-4 large yukon gold potatoes, cubed

32 oz chicken stock

1 tsp dried thyme

fresh ground pepper and salt to taste

Directions:

In a medium to large pot, cook the bacon until done.  Remove bacon to a plate and retain the drippings in the pot.

Place sliced leeks in a large bowl of cold water and swish around.  (This is the best way to clean leeks. It removes any dirt or sand caught in between the layers.)

Saute the leeks, onion and garlic in bacon drippings until close to translucent.  Add chicken stock, thyme, pepper and potatoes.  Bring to a boil then reduce heat and simmer until potatoes are tender.  At this point taste the broth and add salt if needed.  Remove from heat. 

Using an immersion blender, puree the soup until smooth. 

Now for the Yorkshire pudding……

Ingredients:

3/4 c flour

1/2 tsp salt

3 eggs

3/4 c milk

canola oil

Directions:

Preheat oven to 450 degrees F.  Place 1/2 tsp of canola oil in each cup of a muffin tin.  Put the muffin tin in the oven while it heats up. NOTE: Traditionally, Yorkshire pudding would be served with a roast and the pan drippings would be used in place of the canola oil.

Sift flour and salt together and set aside.  Beat eggs and milk together until foamy. 

Add the dry mix to the wet mix and stir to combine.  It’s okay if there are some lumps.  When the oven is ready, remove the muffin tin and add 1/4 c of batter to each cup. 

Bake 10-15 minutes or until puffed up and lightly golden. 

